skip_previous play_arrow skip_next
00:00 00:00
playlist_play chevron_left
  • cover play_arrow

    Blax Radio hip-hop soul funk reggae

  • cover play_arrow

    Big Salute Ya Bornday! – Redman vs. Reggie Noble Manga Dolo

  • cover play_arrow

    Big Salute Ya Bornday! – Redman vs. Reggie Noble Manga Dolo

Album Reviews

GoodFellas by Show and A.G.

todayOctober 12, 2023

share close

GoodFellas … by Show & A.G. – !!!! 1/4

The fact that this album stood out amongst the top releases of 1995 is saying a helluva lot!  GoodFellas is an authentic, gritty, grimey classic New York rap release from D.I.T.C. (Diggin in the Crates) affiliates Show & A.G.. It easily rivals other classics of the era like Dah Shinin, In a Major Way and Resurrection.

This was their sophomore effort and it even surpassed their impressive debut Runaway Slave. A.G. commands this album with clever wordplay and similes as expected but it’s really Showbiz’s bangin beats that push this to classic status.  On top of that, DJ Premier comes through to bless this project with the “Next Level (Nyte Time Mix)” production that many feel is the best song on the album. Personally, I still prefer Show’s original “Next Level” product, which is nothing but a massive compliment because Preem’s remix was superb! Shouts to A.G. and Lord Finesse and Roc Raida on the boards too!

This album sounds best on a cold, drippy winter’s night.  Even more so if you in a bad mood, like got a raw deal, or been cheated on, low on scratch etc… Trust me I know because it helped me overcome some of the aforementioned on more than one occasion.

Play this LP from start to finish. Stand out tracks include the pose cut “Got the Flava” featuring Party Arty (RIP), Method Man, Dres, Wally World, and D-Flow, “Neighborhood Sickness”, “I’m Not the One” , “Got Ya Back” and “Next Level”.

1. Never Less Than Ill – !!!!

2. You Know Now – !!!!1/2

3. Check It Out – !!!!

4. Add On – !!!!

5. Next Level (Nyte Time Mix) – !!!!1/2

6. Time For – !!!1/2

7. Got The Flava – !!!!

8. Neighbahood Sickness – !!!!1/2

9. All Out – !!!!

10. Medicine – !!!!

11. Im Not The One – !!!!

12. Got Ya back – !!!!

13. Next Level – !!!!1/2

14. You Want It? – !!!!

Written by: Manga Dolo

Rate it

Post comments (0)

Leave a reply